Yoshimuraya – 吉村家 横浜 [Yokohama, Kanagawa]

Hello, welcome to Ore no Life. It’s been awhile since I blogged something new. It’s getting close to winter so expect some more posts to go up!

This time in my favorite town of Yokohama I go to the famed Yoshimura-ya. This ramen shop is so famous it has cup ramen based off it.

A friend of mine recommended it because he said that it was better than Ichiran so because of that I had to check it out. I arrived around lunch time to find myself greeted by a 50 minute wait.

20161123_132208

Chillin like Villains 

After about 40 minutes of waiting we made it into the front of the shop where we bought tickets to order at a vending machine and continued to wait until we were seated. When seated we put our tickets on top of the counter and told the chef how we liked our ramen cooked. I went with hard noodles or (katamen) with just the average amount of everything else.

On the counter you can find Sesame Seeds, Garlic chips, vinegar, special garlic mixes pickles all for free which is really nice. They aren’t stingy with the toppings at all and you can eat pretty much as much as you want. The service was quick and I received my food within 5 minutes of sitting down.

20161123_140934

It is very well prepared. I had an extra noodle with spicy miso leek, hard boiled egg, and spicy miso leek as side toppings. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The broth was nice, and it was lighter then I expected. If it was too heavy they suggested to put in their special vinegar sauce into the soup. I did and it made the soup delightful. The chashu gave me a very ham feeling to it. It was delicious but it just seemed a bit off. It still compliment the dish well. The thing that stood out to me the most however was the noodles. The noodles were thick and they were heavy. They really, in my opinion, bring the dish to life. I also underestimated the amount of extra noodles they gave me. So if you aren’t really hungry I would not order oomori (extra noodles). That concludes my ramen report. This place is definitely delicious. Check it out if you are in Yokohama. It is a very popular place so expect to wait but it’s a wait worth waiting for.


You can find Yoshimura ya about a 5 to 10 minutes walk from Yokohama station. Sotetsu exit.  

Address – 〒220-0005 神奈川県横浜市西区南幸2−12−6 ストークみき

Website – http://ieke1.com/

Leave a Reply

