Wantanya – わなたにゃ (Atami, Shizuoka)

Wantanya is a small shop. It seats 15 people. It open from 11:30 and closes when they run out of broth. It’s famous among the locals. There is always a line and gosh it’s totally worth it. I never get the chance to eat here because they don’t open during dinner but I had a business trip and was able to try it. It is located in Atami City’s downtown section next to a place called Scots. When I arrived at 11:40 it was already a 30 minute wait. Eventually I was seated and because of how small the shop is I was seated with random people which I don’t mind at all. Everyone seemed very cheery and welcomed my babbling.

wp-1473844100690.jpg

They had a variety of items but not many. There were at least 8 to 9 people in the kitchen and they were all making food. Anyway I ordered myself a wantan chashu men. Wonton Pork Noodle, and I sat and take a gander around to see there was a lot of Wonton on everything. Turns out this is really old school ramen. Many people here referred to it as Chuka Soba or Chinese Soba. When my food arrived I was pretty blown away with how good it was.

wp-1473844097319.jpg

The soup was really light. Like a soy sauce broth but with more flavor. It had wontons packed into the bowl a little bit of menma and some green onions. The Chashu’s were made a special way and the noodles were probably some sort of egg noodle. It was delicious. I finished it so fast I reached the bottom of the bowl before I could photograph it half way.

wp-1473844104622.jpg

Needless to say this has become one of my favorite ramen places in my hometown however as stated before it opens around 11:30 am always has a line and they close when they run out of broth. So if you ever get the chance to take a bite of this wonderful place swing down to Atami’s downtown and chow.


Wantanya is located a 10 to 15 minute walk from Atami station.

 

Leave a Reply

